First blog post

My name is Liora Grossman, and I am an illustrator (mainly picture books, but sometimes I do some editorial work as well) . Being an Israeli illustrator – I am  committed to promoting Israeli illustration (Children’s books illustration in particular) – both Jewish and  Arabic. I have curated 2 large exhibitions with the help of the Israeli ministry of foreign affairs. Also, I teach various classes in illustration to artists in the Israeli Arab community. That is a subject I’m very passionate about, as it’s a rare opportunity to assist in delivering a completely new genre in Israeli children’s literature (my students would probably refer to it as Palestinian children’s literature – but I do not deal with politics, just in the art and the

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

cultural aspects of it). I will show you what we have done the previous year (the first year of the writers& illustrators seminar, held by Ala Hlihal, and the books and libraries center), and you can follow us down from there. Since I am a veteran illustrator, I am trying to promote young promising Israeli artists. I will use this blog to shed a light on some of them, so it doesn’t become a “look-at-me-I’m-so-awsome” kind of blog. So join me, and let’s get started.

Leave a comment